Horse Stable Review header  


Shalimar Fields

Added: 10/12/2009 3:36pm. Last updated: 02/17/2011 8:29pm
General Information
Stable manager/owner: Karen Kau
Stable website: http://shalimarfields.com
Type of stable: public

Address and Contact
Street: 153 Bagburn Hill Rd
City: Monroe
State: CT
ZIP Code: 06468
Phone number: 203-261-8449

Property Profile
Approximate size of property: 16 acres
Approximate number of horses on property: 25-49
Approximate age of stalls: less than 10 years old
Types/sizes of stalls: Box stall
Number of arenas: 1-5
Type of footing in the arenas: Travel Right (dust free) footing
Number of turnouts: 11-15
Type of turnout: both grass and dirt
Access to trails or bridle path: unknown
Approx. number of vets in service area: more than 21
Approx. number of farriers in service area: more than 21

Trainers
Number of trainers on premises: 2-5
Trainers for which disciplines: Hunter/Jumper

Amenities
Disciplines supported: Hunter/Jumper, Dressage
Type of feed: Orchard hay, Cubes
Supplemental feeding services: yes
Frequency of stall cleaning: twice a day
Horse shows held: no
Indoor or covered arena available: yes
Eventing course available: no
Eventing course level: N/A
Race track available: unknown
Hot walker or Euroxciser available: euroxciser
Grooming/care services available: yes
Number of crossties: 6-10
Number of hitching posts: unknown
Number of washracks: 1-5
Heated water in washracks: yes
Breeding facilities available: no
Trailer parking available: yes
Grazing available: yes

Costs
General boarding costs: more than $800/month
Cost of trailer parking: N/A

Other
Other features: Riding clinics in dressage (Bettina Drummond) and Hunter Jumper (Jeff Cook; Timmy Keys).

Information is updated by stable manager
 

Reviews for Shalimar Fields

Add your own review
 
Disclaimer: The following reviews are solely the opinions and claimed experiences of the reviewers. Horse Stable Review does not endorse any of the following reviews and cannot attest to the veracity of the statements made by the reviewers.
 
Reviewed by Maria on 08/07/2011 8:22pm
71 out of 201 people found this review helpful
What I like:
I love this barn! The lessons are great, the barn is beautiful, and the horses are very happy there. Lots of attention to horses care, great horsemanship all around
What needs improvement:
not much really...
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Lexi on 02/15/2011 10:40pm
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful
This review has been removed due to a violation of our review guidelines or terms of use.
 
 
Reviewed by Anna on 02/02/2011 5:19pm
0 out of 0 people found this review helpful
This review has been removed due to a violation of our review guidelines or terms of use.
 
 
Reviewed by Shirley on 01/21/2011 2:19pm
77 out of 228 people found this review helpful
What I like:
This place is great! My daughter and I have been to many barns in the area, and this one is by far the nicest, and with the most professional and knowledgable people. The farm and barns are beautiful, and the heated barn and indoor is fantastic for the winter time. They have a lounge with wifi for parents to use while they are waiting on a lesson, a nice mini kitchen, and the horses get plenty of turnout and are looked after very, very well! The lessons are also always fun, and the lesson horses are great too.
What needs improvement:
The only drawback I guess would be the price, but it is very, very reasonable for what you get for this area, so its really not that big of a concern.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Donna on 06/30/2010 11:29pm
106 out of 252 people found this review helpful
What I like:
Excellent footing, care, great training/lessons.
I had been looking around for a stable in Fairfield county and finally moved to this farm on the advice of a friend a year and a half ago. My horse and I have progressed a lot since we moved there (and I have seen a LOT of trainers and barns in the last few years!! this is by far the best I have been at so far.
Don't understand previous comment since the footing in the indoor is non dusty (dust free) and the attached barn is super clean. (So is the property in general by the way). Great barn manager on top of everything thing.
What needs improvement:
The attached barn is older but well kept. No access to trail is a bummer.
A bit pricey (board starts at 1,150) but probably ok for the area.
Did you find this review helpful?   Yes   No
 
Reviewed by Liverpool on 11/03/2009 10:35pm
17 out of 51 people found this review helpful
This review has been removed due to a violation of our review guidelines or terms of use.